Saturday, April 25, 2015

Corbin’s Bend – Learning to Live Again by Ruth Staunton

Grant and Lainie Taylor are a married couple whose lives and marriage have fallen into chaos. Though they had talked about incorporating domestic discipline into their marriage when they first married, circumstances intervened and they never did. Now they are unhappy with the way their lives have turned out and have decided to move to Corbin's Bend and start over, incorporating DD as they originally talked about. It's a big adjustment for both of them to learn to live again in this type of relationship.

Add to Goodreads

Season Two
Book 9
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Blushing Books

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

I have read all the books in both Corbin’s Bend seasons; this was only the second book I haven’t liked. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters and I was honestly just bored the entire time I was trying to read. I felt sorry for Grant at times, his wife drove me nuts and his daughter, Kathleen, was a brat. I just couldn’t get into the story or the characters. I am sure others loved this book but it just wasn’t working for me this time.

Characters: I couldn’t connect with any of the characters
Sex: Not descriptive
Religious: No
Would I recommend to others: Yes
More than one book in the series: Yes
Genre: Spanking/Romance
Would I read more by this author: Yes

Mary Jo☆☆
The Players: Grant and Lainie Taylor, a couple who have been together for over 15 years who are increasingly frustrated with their lives and with their children.

The Story: Grant was raised in a DD household and had talked about having the same kind of marriage with Lainie. Except that it doesn't happen. Life gets in the way and now 15 years later, he's having second thoughts about it. His kids are brats and his wife is seemingly disinterested. At Grant’s suggestion, Lainie agrees to try DD, but neither of them have a clue on how to go about it.

Plot: I think the author had a great plot outlined but to me it was wasn't fleshed out very well. Two people who are new to the lifestyle suffer growing pains without any real connection to DD or what it should be. The children were one-dimensional and the resolution of one of the central plots wasn't detailed but rather took place "off the page."

Part of a Series: Yes, Corbin's Bend Season 2

This latest story about life in Corbin's Bend starts in North Carolina. Grant was brought up In a DD household, but work and more work has him lap waving his wife Lainie to make all the decisions at home. He suddenly decides that it is time for a change and discovers Corbin’s Bend online. The family move there and we watch the consequences unfold. We get to read about some old friends, but mostly the story covers a family's acceptance of a new lifestyle.

It was a very different story as the drama revolved around a reluctant teenage daughter, Kathleen. 

Also Available in the Corbin's Bend Series

Click on the book's cover to go to its Goodreads listing.

Click on the book's cover to go to its Goodreads listing.

Ruth Staunton lives in a small town in the Southeast with her two cats. She is a voracious reader, who has been writing since middle school. She originally wanted to write mainstream contemporary romance, but her penchant for alpha males soon had her taking a sharp left turn into spanking and domestic discipline fiction. When not writing, she spends her time hanging out with family and watching TV crime dramas.

Connect with Ruth

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Google+  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads

Hosted by

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Learning to Live Again (Corbin’s Bend Season Two #9) by Ruth Staunton to read and review for this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.