Friday, December 14, 2018

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones

Charley Davidson—part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper—returns in the New York Times bestseller, Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones.

Sometimes I wrestle my demons.
Sometimes we just snuggle.
—Bumper Sticker

Most girls might think twice before getting engaged to someone like Reyes Farrow—but Charley Davidson is not most girls. She's a paranormal private eye and grim reaper-in-training who's known to be a bit of a hell-raiser, especially after a few shots of caffeine. Her beloved Reyes may be the only begotten son of evil, but he's dark and sultry and deeply sexy and everything Charley could hope for. Really.

But when the FBI file on Reyes' childhood happens to land into her lap, she can't help herself: She opens it...and then the real fun begins. First, Charley finds a naked corpse riding shotgun in her car. Then, a man loses his soul in a card game. Throw in a Deaf boy who sees dead people, a woman running from mobsters, and a very suspicious Reyes, and things can't get any worse for Charley. Unless, of course, the Twelve Beasts of Hell are unleashed…

Add to Goodreads –

Book 6
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

HOLY MOLEY! These books just keep getting better, and better.

Sixth Grave on the Edge is a bit darker, more dangerous (if that's really possible with Charley), it has the depth I was craving regarding Charley and Reyes’ relationship.

This installment brings Charley and Reyes together, like really together. Actually, I would say coming together is the "theme" of this book. We meet a NEW character, it's yet to be seen if he's a good guy or bad. Of course, while Charley's personal life is "taking off," her professional jobs are reaching a new level! A man requests that Charley obtains the soul he sold to the devil. No idea how to complete this job, but I will say it's quite an adventure. The other case she starts working is a LOT more depraved, it may involve crime bosses and FBI informants.

Overall, this is my new favorite Charley Davidson book! It feels like Charley has matured, and not only that, but Reyes has also. One more thing, YAY Cookie... Bring on book 7!

5 'Where Can I Get My Own Reyes?' Stars

Sixth Grave on the Edge is obviously the sixth installment of the Charley Davidson series and cannot be read as a standalone. Each book builds momentum, adding more and more threads, as well as answering questions brought forth in previous books. I strongly suggest reading from the beginning.

Zany, witty, sarcastic, humorous, punny, yet highly emotional, gut-punch darkness. It's not a Charley Davidson novel if someone doesn't die, Charley is nearly killed, we all swoon for Reyes, and all fear for the son of the devil's longevity. As usual, Darynda Jones delivers on all counts.

In this installment, Charley focuses less on detective work and helping out the police department and FBI, and more on personal investigations and personal matters. That kidnapping case from 30 years ago is obviously Reyes. Those men who break into her apartment obviously want Charley to do their bidding or a 'friend' dies in 48-hours. Those ghosts, especially the naked and hung older gentleman riding shotgun in Misery, need constant attention and problem-solving. Even Angel has a secret he's carrying.

Charley is on the case, playacting as Davidson Matchmaking, not Davidson Investigation. Uncle Bob and Cookie needed more than a nudge, as well as keeping young Quinton away from an even younger Amber. Since it's easier to focus on the romance of her nearest and dearest than the Post-It note that simply needs "It's a yes/no, Dutch."

Then there is Reyes, who is on the top of his game. Like seriously, where can I get my own personal Reyes? The son of the devil knows how to court and seduce even the most commitment phobic among us, because of his utter devotion for Charley. I feel like one of his devotees at the bar, waiting for even a glimpse of such a man. Swagger, wit, seduction skills that rival his face and bod, all tied together with the 'hurt little boy' vibe he gives off, Charley is not immune, and neither are the readers.

In the background of all the sleuthing and romancing, Swoops and the Dealer are solving the riddles of the prophesy, with one helluva ending.

More questions arise as previous answers are given. Who the heck is that baby Swoops asks, but Charley and the readers want to know if the baby's father is actually related to Swoops. What's up with Dad, who's acting shady.

What happens next is what I want to know, after that ending, but sadly I have a few books to read before I get the answers, where I'm positive more questions will arise.

I love that these books just seem to be getting better as the series progresses.

What can I say except YES! Finally, with Charley and Reyes.

There are also new characters introduced in this book that add a little something extra.

This series really does keep me turning the pages. It's all getting very exciting.

This is the sixth book in the series, and you absolutely have to read each book in order to understand what is going on! There are smaller side plots which complete within the book, but they still contribute to the bigger picture. The series is such a lovely treat that I am enjoying every minute. One minute I am laughing (often when Cookie is in the room), then worrying over another a revelation about the end of the human race is made. Neither Charley nor I know yet just what her powers are... even though there are lots of hints – I cannot wait until all is revealed.

I love the developing romance between Reyes and Charley, the wall chapter is just fabulous. There is a lot of concern about how their relationship can overcome rather a lot of significant world problems. But Reyes' centuries of knowledge and Charley's human-side naivety make a fabulous counterpoint. I cannot wait to read on and find out what happens next...

Also Available in the Charley Davidson Series

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our First Grave on the Right post.

Book 2
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Second Grave on the Left post.

Book 3
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Third Grave Dead Ahead post.

Book 4
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet post.

Book 5
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Fifth Grave Past the Light post.

Darynda Jones is the winner of the 2009 Golden Heart® for Best Paranormal Novel for her manuscript First Grave on the Right. Darynda can't remember a time when she wasn't putting pen to paper. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than twenty-five years and two beautiful sons, aka the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

Connect with Darynda

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads
Google+  ~  Instagram

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Sixth Grave on the Edge (Charley Davidson #6) by Darynda Jones to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.