Tuesday, September 18, 2018

What I've Done by Melinda Leigh

Morgan Dane’s new client has blood on her hands—and no recollection of what happened—as the #1 Amazon Charts bestselling series continues.

Haley Powell wakes up covered in blood, with no memory of the night before. When she sees a man lying in the backyard, stabbed to death, she has only one terrified thought: What have I done?

Agreeing to take the case as a favor to her PI friend Lincoln Sharp, Morgan must scale a mountain of damning circumstantial and forensic evidence to prove her client innocent. Haley couldn’t appear more guilty: her bloodstained fingerprints are on the murder weapon, and she has no alibi. But Morgan can’t shake the feeling that this shocked young woman has been framed.

Someone out there is hell-bent on sabotaging her defense, targeting Morgan, her partner, and especially Haley. Someone who will stop at nothing—and whose next move will be deadly

Add to Goodreads –

Book 4
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
~  Available with KindleUnlimited  ~

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Avid Reader☆☆☆☆☆
M/F Thriller
Triggers: Click HERE to see Avid Reader’s review on Goodreads for trigger warnings.

I have read all of the books in this series and this one is just as good.

Morgan is again, fighting against a tough situation for her client. Haley woke up covered in blood with no recollection of what happened the previous night. With the mountain of evidence against her, can Morgan find a way to save her?

In this story, we follow on a trail of a messy case. Haley is suffering from amnesia and the protesters are hot on their trail. Throw in friends of the victim holding back, brother of the victim throwing all he's got to stave off his own grief and it's just a mess of accidents, sabotage, and murder.

Morgan and her team pull a thread that starts them on a path that exposes them to a crazy killer. Without giving too much away, let's just say it is much more than it appears. I am loving this series and can't wait for more.

Mary Jo☆☆☆☆
This is a new to me series and I have to admit I read the three previous books over the weekend before, devouring this one in one sitting.

Morgan Dane is a force to be reckoned with but is as fragile as the rest of us. She's learning that she can depend on Lance Kruger, the former police officer turned private investigator for more than just business.

In the fourth installment, Ms. Leigh skillfully intertwines Morgan and Lance's growing romance with the latest case that lands on their doorstep. In this instance, it's an old friend of Sharp's that needs help defending her daughter against a murder rap.

Haley Powell woke up in the bed of her crush, Noah. Feeling out of sorts, she got out of bed to discover that she was covered in blood and that Noah's body was in the backyard. She doesn't remember much from the night before, or how she ended up at Noah's place, it appears to the local police that she's guilty.

Morgan, along with Lance and Sharp, set out to find out what really happened the night that Noah was murdered. Interviews with the witnesses and friends paint a poor picture of Haley but Morgan feels that there is something off about the whole thing. Digging deeper into the muck only brings danger to Morgan and Lance on more than one front.

The closer they get to solving the mystery of the Friday night that changed Haley's life, they must also contend with Morgan's stalker and a firebug out to get Lance.

I thoroughly enjoy this series and can't wait to read more about Morgan and Lance.

This series just keeps getting better! I read this fourth book in a single sitting, refusing to go to sleep until I solved the murder. While I did finally manage to piece together some bits of the whodunnit, I love that the last few twists took me completely by surprise.

This is the kind of murder mystery that makes me really anxious. It starts with an impossible situation and just gets worse. As evidence piles up, it starts to seem like an impossible task for Morgan to prove her client’s innocence. At about the halfway point – right about the time Morgan and her team started to question their own assumptions – I didn’t trust anyone. The author builds tension perfectly in this story – while completely messing with my head.

Beyond the murder mystery, Morgan’s personal life also takes some interesting twists. Morgan’s client is a family friend of Sharp’s and we get to learn more about another dark period in Sharp’s police career. Once again, Morgan balances her family responsibilities with a difficult case – and tries to fit her relationship with Lance into her already complicated life. I love the way Morgan alternates between single mum everywoman moments and badass superhero strength – sometimes on the same page.

There are a few moments at the end that made me fear this might be the last book in the series and I’m really hoping I’m wrong. I’ve come to love the Morgan Dane stories and I’m already eager for the next one.

Also Available in the Morgan Dane Series

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
~  Available with KindleUnlimited  ~

For reviews & more info, check out our Say You're Sorry post.

Book 2
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
~  Available with KindleUnlimited  ~

For reviews & more info, check out our Her Last Goodbye post.

Book 3
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
~  Available with KindleUnlimited  ~

For reviews & more info, check out our Bones Don’t Lie post.

Melinda Leigh abandoned her career in banking to raise her kids and never looked back. She started writing as a hobby and became addicted to creating characters and stories. Since then, she has won numerous writing awards for her paranormal romance and romantic-suspense fiction. Her debut novel, She Can Run, was a number one bestseller in Kindle Romantic Suspense, a 2011 Best Book Finalist (The Romance Reviews), and a nominee for the 2012 International Thriller Award for Best First Book. She is the author of the Midnight Novels, including Midnight Exposure (a finalist for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense) and Midnight Sacrifice.

Connect with Melinda

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads
Google+  ~  Instagram

Montlake –

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of What I’ve Done (Morgan Dane #4) by Melinda Leigh to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.