Monday, June 19, 2023

The Sweetheart List by Jill Shalvis

The Sweetheart List. Jill Shalvis.

What makes life sweet?
Freshly baked bread
A cool lake on a hot summer day
The comfort of a cozy bookstore
Second chances and new beginnings

When Harper Shaw’s life falls apart, she knows it’s time for a change. She removes everything that doesn’t spark joy—from her soul-sucking job to eating kale to making lists—and sets off for the last place she was happy, Lake Tahoe (who wouldn’t feel good there, right?) to fulfill her dream of opening her own bakery.

With her Sugar Pine Bakery in between a tavern, owned by sexy, grumpy Bodie Campbell, and a bookstore, run by her new BFF, she feels a peace she’s never experienced since… well, forever.. Then she meets Ivy, a teenage runaway, who barrels into her heart. She sees a lot of herself in Ivy and takes her under her wing, but the teenager has secrets…

When those secrets explode, it changes Harper’s new world, and she’ll learn, it’s never too late to start over, it’s never too late to figure out your life, and best of all, it’s never too late to let yourself believe in love.

Don’t miss our reviews of other books in the Sunrise Cove series!
For book one, The Family You Make, click HERE.
For book three, The Backup Plan, click HERE.


Add to Goodreads.


The Sweetheart List by Jill Shalvis.

Book 4
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
Apple Books  ~  B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  Kobo
Audiobook (US)  ~  Hardcover (US)  ~  Paperback (US)
Avon (HarperCollins)



“Just making sure you’re okay.”     “Why wouldn’t I be?” she asked, trying to be a cool cucumber.     This got her another mouth twitch. “I don’t know, Speed Racer, maybe because you came in hot and just lost a fight with a manzanita bush. Do you need help?”     “No, thank you.”     He gave her car a look of doubt.



Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

This is the fourth book in the Sunrise Cove series – and whilst I definitely think that you should start at the beginning, you would find this a great story even as a standalone. There are a group of lovely characters in this book, but you really would find it hard to beat Bodie, Harper, and Ivy for being totally engaging and wonderful people. Jill Shalvis is so talented at writing about relatively normal parts of life and making them meaningful. It makes every story seem like it really could happen in the next town over – I love her style!

I loved Harper's theory about solving many issues with an offer of her homemade cookies. It was definitely something that smoothed ruffled feathers a few times. I am not going to reveal the plot but be ready for some very moving moments. There has been real hurt in these lovely people's lives, and it has made them cynical and hardened to love. Watching them give love, even when wary of accepting it, is a testament to how special they are. When Bodie and Harper give themselves a chance at being together, she discovers passion in a way that she had not realised was possible before.

Lovely ending, and definitely there are some other brothers who need to find their happily ever afters too!



“I gave up everything that didn’t spark joy. Obsessive list-making. Kale. My high-stress job. My ex…” Harper was sure there was more, and if she hadn’t given up list-making, she’d probably have it written down.


Author Bio

New York Times bestselling author JILL SHALVIS lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Connect with Jill Shalvis

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads



She was a single snack-getting-stuck-in-a-vending-machine away from an anxiety attack. But hey, that was what happened when you decided nothing in your life sparked joy. You wiped your slate clean like an Etch A Sketch and started over.


ARC provided by

Avon Books.

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided with a free copy of The Sweetheart List (Sunrise Cove #4) by Jill Shalvis to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.