Friday, March 6, 2020

Wicked as Sin by Shayla Black Blog Tour


Finally!! The Wicked Lovers and Devoted Lovers worlds collide in epic fashion with the start of a NEW Wicked & Devoted series, steeped in the steamy, angsty romance you don’t want to miss.

He’s ruthless. She’s off-limits. But he’s just met his one weakness… Now nothing will stop him from making her his.


Pierce “One-Mile” Walker has always kept his heart under wraps and his head behind his sniper’s scope. Nothing about buttoned-up Brea Bell should appeal to him. But after a single glance at the pretty preacher’s daughter, he doesn’t care that his past is less than shiny, that he gets paid to end lives… or that she’s his teammate’s woman. He'll do whatever it takes to steal her heart.

Brea has always been a dutiful daughter and a good girl… until she meets the dangerous warrior. He’s everything she shouldn’t want, especially after her best friend introduces her to his fellow operative as his girlfriend—to protect her from Pierce. But he’s a forbidden temptation she’s finding impossible to resist.

Then fate strikes, forcing Brea to beg Pierce to help solve a crisis. But his skills come at a price. When her innocent flirtations run headlong into his obsession, they cross the line into a passion so fiery she can’t say no. Soon, his past rears its head and a vendetta calls his name in a mission gone horribly wrong. Will he survive to fight his way back to the woman who claimed his soul?

Add to Goodreads –


Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo




Pierce’s hands dropped to her hips. “Would you rather do something besides play pool?”

Yes, please. “No. This is fine.”

His fingers tightened on her. The heat of his touch penetrated the khaki twill of her shorts. Suddenly, she found it hard to breathe.

“Then turn and bend over the table again.” He waited until she complied, and Brea was achingly aware of his body heat bracketing the backs of her thighs, of the sexual stirrings his closeness roused. “You’re right-handed?”

“Um, yes.”

“With that hand, hold the cue about five inches from the bottom. Now place it near your hip. Don’t hold it so tight. You want to be relaxed but controlled. Good. Align your body with the cue ball. This will help your aim. Exactly. With your left hand, make a V with your thumb and index finger, like this.” He demonstrated. “You’ll balance the tip of the cue in that crevice.”

Brea watched, acutely aware of the veins bulging in his forearms, the size of his hands, the length of his fingers, the hair dusting his knuckles.

Then he took hold of her hips again. “Spread your legs, pretty girl.”

Her stomach tightened. “Why?”

“Your feet are too close together. You’ll find it hard to stabilize when you take your shot. Go on. Yeah, just like that. Now lay the rest of the fingers of your left hand on the table and make a bridge for the V to rest on. You got it.”

“Now what?” she asked.

Brea only half listened to his answer. She was excruciatingly aware of his body heat blistering her, of his hips packed against her backside as he leaned over and utterly surrounded her with his big body.

“That means you need to bend over a bit more.”

“Oh,” she breathed as she rushed to comply.

“Good. Now hold the cue steady and eye the ball. Like that.” He sounded hoarse as his fingers gripped her tighter. Then he pressed his entire chest over her back and breathed against her neck. A shiver wracked her. “Hold still. Yeah. Now take your shot.”

How the devil was she supposed to concentrate when he was all over her? When his musky scent swam in her head and she kept closing her eyes to drink him in? It was hard to concentrate on balancing the cue when her body kept urging her to press back into him with a moan.

But Brea did her best.

The tip of her stick barely poked the cue ball. The white orb rolled lazily across the table, made a polite clap with the first of the balls in the triangle, barely jostling them before rolling away.

“Not a bad first effort. Next time, put a little more force into it.” He eased away, seemingly reluctant to put space between them.

“It was horrible.” She straightened, and her hungry stare climbed him again. “Show me what I should have done?”

He hesitated, then set his pool cue aside. “You didn’t come to play pool. Cutter made you promise not to talk to me, so why are you here?”

“To thank you.” She blushed.

“You could have left cookies for me at the office. But you came to my house. On a Friday night. With your hair curled and your makeup done, wearing pretty white lace.” Pierce fingered the scooped neck of her top before he wrapped his hand around her neck and tilted her face up to meet his stare. “Look me in the eye and tell me why you’re here.”

“I don’t know.”

“Yes, you do. You’re afraid to admit it.”

Goodness, Pierce could see right through her.

She swallowed. “Terrified.”

His fingers on the back of her neck tightened. “I’m more than happy to give you what you want, but you have to look me in the eye and say it out loud.”

Brea dug her nails into his forearms, her heart pounding. “I don’t understand.”

“I won’t settle for less than your enthusiastic consent when I take you to bed.”






Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Avid Reader☆☆☆☆☆
M/F Romance

"One-Mile" – aka Pierce – is a hard man. He's been hardened by life and by his job. As a newer member of an elite group of people who do the jobs that nobody wants to talk about, One-Mile is known as the antisocial one. He's a mountain of a man with emotions that run deep.

Brea is a simple woman. She is known as the good girl and someone who is always willing to help out. Her best friend, Cutter, is also part of the elite group and when they go to a picnic, she catches the eye of One-Mile.

What follows is a relationship that shouldn't work, but does. Brea brings out the more gentle side of One-Mile and One-Mile brings out Brea's wilder side.

These two have a lot going on and although you can see where their relationship is heading, you'll be hard pressed to not want book two to come sooner. Plus, with the mystery within One-Mile's group, there are a lot of unanswered questions. I can't wait!


Mary☆☆☆☆☆
I have to say that I have not read the Wicked Lovers series but I have read the Devoted Lovers series. Bringing both of those series together with what I would call smaller characters (at the time) is one way to bring them into the spotlight.

Pierce “One-Mile” Walker is the man to call when you need the kill shot. He worked for the military for years and was a sniper and that is where he got his name from. He keeps his heart under wraps and doesn't give it to anyone. But when he meets Brea Bell, things begin to change for him.

Brea Bell is an all-around innocent girl. She is the preacher's daughter and is pure as snow. When she meets One-Mile, she has feelings come alive in her that she cannot deny. When her best friend, Cutter, warns her to stay away from him, she tries to, but the pull between her and Pierce is too strong.

Can Brea keep her innocence and stay away from One-Mile? Will One-Mile continue to pursue her because he wants her? Will she give her innocence to save her best friend? And what about that ending, will One-Mile come back?

I love Shayla Black and her writing style is one that will leave you on the edge of your seat and breathless. Her stories are well worth the read and leave you wanting more.


Ruthie☆☆☆☆☆
This is the first in a duet giving us One-Mile and Brea's story from the inside, and it is everything I could have hoped for... and (thankfully) not long to wait until the second book hits our e-readers!

For fans of Shayla Black's Wicked Lovers and Devoted Lovers series this will be like stepping back into a world full of friends, danger, and scorchingly hot passion – a complete pleasure. For newbies, I think it will probably make you rush off to read from the beginning, and I do not think that you will regret that decision one bit.

Oh, this book is so full of goodness – and goodness in its many forms, ranging from virtue, service, passion, honesty, future, hope, and love. It has wonderful sections of slow intense realisation, long moments of incredible passion, and hard-hitting events which serve to show the lengths which the team will go to protect. It is not easy at times; it is definitely pitching external expectations with internal realities – and through it all, Brea and Pierce (One-Mile) recognise that the feelings that they have for each other are anything but throwaway. And it is in that certainty that we can trust that Black will lead them in the direction they need, even if not that which they expect.

Now to count down the days until the next book is released...




Shayla Black is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than forty novels, including the Wicked Lovers series and, with Lexi Blake, the Perfect Gentlemen series. For over fifteen years, she’s written contemporary, erotic, paranormal, and historical romances via traditional, independent, foreign, and audio publishers. Her books have sold well over a million copies and have been published in a dozen languages.

Connect with Shayla

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads
Shayla Black's Book Beauties! Facebook Group




Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Wicked as Sin: One-Mile & Brea, Part One (Wicked & Devoted #1) by Shayla Black to read and review via the author’s ARC team.

No comments:

Post a Comment