Tuesday, July 21, 2020

The Breaking Season by K.A. Linde Release Blitz

A sexy arranged marriage romance from USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde...

I signed on the dotted line. A marriage contract to seal my union with the devil.

I thought I knew what I was doing. His money and name were mine for the taking. But Camden Percy always gets exactly what he wants. And what he wants is me—my body, my obedience, my surrender.

He wants to break me.

But I’m Katherine Van Pelt. I’ll never break. I’ll never beg. I’ll never give in.

Except I promised him one more thing—a baby. A Percy heir.

There’s no way out of this one. Either I comply or lose everything. Do I risk the husband I’m just learning to love or is this my breaking season?


Book 3
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

4.5 stars of fractured perfection

This is the third book in the series – and SUCH an anticipated one! The wildly confusing and upsetting dynamics between Katherine and Camden have been a significant feature of the previous books (and to an extent, in the Cruel series too), so it was definitely time to straighten out the messes and give them a better future. Whilst I guess it is not essential to read the earlier books, I would say that you would miss out on a significant part of the underlying issues if you didn't. I also say that you will get two other excellent stories along the way.

The arrangement between Camden and Katherine makes little sense to their friends – and possibly even to us the readers – but the gang is strong and tries its best to keep the peace and provide the buffers that are needed along the way. It is fun now having two strong couples who find their relationship unnecessarily complicated, as they are convinced that there is love between the two of them in spite of all the drama.

Sadly, both Camden and Katherine are so busy being angry and to a great extent insecure, that they don't give themselves time to be anything but – thus making the situation all the worse. Linde builds up our frustration at them both brilliantly, as we get to see both their points of view and the chasm between them. But wow, once it all breaks down, it is difficult not to love these two very damaged souls and have some sympathy for the reasons why they behave the way that they do, and lack so much trust in anyone delivering what they need.

The ending is so much richer than I expected and be warned, once it starts to get really good, you need to be free of all obligations, as you will not want to put it down... one very happy reader here. :-D

And there is more goodness to come, which makes me even happier!

The Breaking Season is the third installment in the Seasons series, and it cannot be read as a standalone due to a continuation of the storyline. Even after reading all three novels in this series, I still experienced confusion when events are info-dumped, as if I am missing novels. Was this series a direct tie to another of K.A. Linde's series?

The buildup to this novel was epic, and I felt as if it would be hard to live up to all that anticipation. To be honest, it didn't quite hit the notes I needed.

I am a fanatic for angst. I crave angst. I will purposefully read a novel just to emotionally torture myself. Unless you're new to K.A. Linde, you know she spends a great deal delivering angst. Which is why I said what I said above about The Breaking Season missing the mark for me.

Katherine and Camden dance around their feelings, have been throughout the previous novels. There is true angst featuring Camden's family and a medical condition. But then there is manufactured angst featuring the relationship inside their arranged marriage, which was basically everything I read on the pages.

As I said, I crave angst. It's delicious and I could glut myself on it. I eat up flawed characters and will beg for another helping. But then there was Katherine and Camden. Their issues were self-created, the focus not on their true issues. The family and medical drama kept me glued to the pages, while the miscommunication had me rolling my eyes and getting frustrated.

The issues they had with each other were surrounded on miscommunication, purposefully misunderstanding, and game playing, all of which one single conversation three books ago would have resolved the entire plot and we wouldn't have read their novel. So, I just felt that they needed a true reason to dance around one another. Something other than just purposefully leading the reader to think there is something deeper when there isn't.

The one who said there were to be no lies or game-playing, did nothing but lie and game-play. Petty. Jealousy. Envious of someone that was no threat, while making sure there was a miscommunication/misunderstanding to torture their spouse.

As I said, I love flawed characters, especially those who evolve over the pages of the novel and redeem themselves. Katherine tried to find her way outside of being a vapid socialite, and I enjoyed that evolution. Camden changed the most due to family, but just wiped away all of the pain he caused Katherine. After all this buildup, a short conversation fixed everything, and it didn't feel as if they earned or deserved it after the built-up, drawn-out dance.

I have to admit, the weakest part of the novel was the romance. Katherine finding her true worth for the charity, the relationship and loyalty toward friends, the evolution and maturity of Camden's growth with his family were where the novel shined. A half a page where the couple didn't act like toddlers – albeit, toddlers have no filter and would have told the truth and cleared up any misconceptions in one shout – I needed more to buy the happily ever after.

Not all books are a hit for every reader, and I still place Linde at the top of my recommend list in angsty reads. I can't wait to read what is in store for this series next, as well as read the series I haven't read yet, as that might be the tie that caused so much confusion for me.

Also Available in the Seasons Series

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our stop on The Lying Season Release Blitz.

Book 2
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our stop on The Hating Season Release Blitz.

K. A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of the Avoiding series, Wrights, and more than thirty other novels. She has a master’s degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, binge-watching Supernatural, traveling, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super-adorable puppies.

Connect with K.A.

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads
K.A. Linde Books Facebook Group

Hosted by

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of The Breaking Season (Seasons #3) by K.A. Linde to read and review for this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.