Wednesday, February 5, 2020

The Lying Season by K.A. Linde Release Blitz

A new second-chance, standalone office romance from USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde...

Walking away from Sam Rutherford was the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

It’s been five years since that day, and I’ve given up on looking for love. My focus is on my career. And it’s paid off—I’m successfully managing the reelection for the mayor of New York City.

Then Sam walks into my office as the new legal counsel. Which means I have to see him every single day from now until November. We vow to remain professional, but it’s a small office. The sly glances and his blistering charm are unavoidable.

It all feels so familiar. Too comfortable. After what happened the first time… I should know better.

If I’m not careful, he’ll break my heart all over again.

And I don’t know if I can survive Sam a second time.

Add to Goodreads –

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

If you have read Linde's Cruel series, then you will recognise the side characters in this book – and be swept back into the Upper East Side. This can definitely be read as a standalone, but I bet you will want to go and find out more about Katherine, Natalie, et al.

Lark is living her life, finally – well, as much as her oppressive mother will allow her to – having removed herself from her family's business and back working for the New York mayor in her re-election campaign. I enjoyed the office dynamics, and intensity with which she had to operate in order to be successful. That her one and only long-ago love, Sam, is employed as a lawyer on the team throws her for six. As she finds out why he moved to New York, and deals with having to see him every day at work, she has to try and convert those feelings to friendship. Easier said than done – for both of them, as it turns out. Whilst we are set up to want them to work it all out, there is a pretty big obstacle, or three, so Linde has to convince us that there can be a solution.

Along the way we meet up with Lark's friends and get to understand a little (very little) of the way that the Upper East Side operates. There are a completely different set of rules and expectations, which add an extra dimension to the way that Sam sees Larkin.

This is a very enjoyable read with a good mix of a second-chance romance, political machinations, and the way that old money really affects your life.

The Lying Season by K.A. Linde was an interesting office romance, set in the Upper East Side.

Lark St. Vincent is the only daughter of a super wealthy, famous family. Her parents have their own idea of the life she should be living, where she has other ideas and is blazing her own trail. As a deputy campaign manager for the re-election of New York City's first female mayor, Lark is very busy. She doesn't have time to think, let alone nurture a relationship. When Sam, a ghost from Lark's past, shows up in the campaign office, the story really heats up.

Now, I will say I did enjoy parts of the story. I liked the dynamic between Lark and Sam, although I did find many parts tedious and drawn out. The back and forth, the push and pull, almost became too much. In the end, it was ALL WORTH IT!

What I really didn't like was the constant mention of the Upper East Side – this apparently has a connotation that I didn't understand. I felt it was very condescending, but from other reviews have realized it's in reference to another series by the same author.

I loved the rest of the cast – they really added to this story.

Overall, I would rate this story a strong 3.5 stars.

K. A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of the Avoiding series, Wrights, and more than thirty other novels. She has a master’s degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, binge-watching Supernatural, traveling, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super-adorable puppies.

Connect with K.A.

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads

Hosted by

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of The Lying Season (Seasons #1) by K.A. Linde to read and review for this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.