Wednesday, April 29, 2020

The Hating Season by K.A. Linde Release Blitz

A new standalone enemies-to-lovers romance from USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde...

Court Kensington is a thorn in my side.

I’m hired to clean up his badboy image, which would’ve been easy if my life wasn’t falling apart.

First, I catch my movie star husband having an affair with his co-star. Then when I return to work, my job is at stake, because Court has gotten himself into trouble...again.

Instead of getting him back in line, I find myself falling for his charm. And into his bed. And against the wall. And, and, and…

Except Kensington charm shouldn’t work on me. Not when I’ve sworn to never ever sleep with a client.

I had good intentions.
I really did.
But we all know the road to hell is paved with good intentions.

Add to Goodreads –

Book 2
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

This is the second book in the series (there is also a prequel). If you have read Linde's Cruel series, then you will recognise the side characters in this book – and be swept back into the Upper East Side. This does follow on directly from The Lying Season, and whilst it can definitely be read as a standalone, I bet you will want to go and find out more about Lark and Sam in that book and Katherine, Natalie et al. in the Cruel series. We continue to get interesting glimpses into just what is going on in these people's lives.

In the previous installment, Lark persuaded her boss to employ her good friend and publicist Anna English to babysit her son, Court Kensington, in the run up to the New York Mayoral election. Anna English is married to a very successful actor, and considered to be immune to any other man – so in theory, safe when faced with the charms of Court.

This book gives us a much better idea of exactly who English (as she prefers to be called) is, and how hard she worked to achieve her success. She is not Upper Eastside by birth, nor is she Hollywood, as they call her. Her upbringing was much less settled or entitled. It also shows that all that is meant to be perfect in her marriage, is sadly not that way at all. And English always made one thing clear... cheating is out, so her marriage is over following the revelations she finds when she visits her husband in London. I really liked her strength of character, even when she was very badly hurt, she was strong in her resolve.

We get to learn quite a lot more about Court here too – the fallout from his relationship with Jane is still causing problems, both in his nascent feelings for Anna, and in the context of his mother's campaign. As it becomes clearer that he is wasting a lot of energy fighting invisible enemies and preconceptions, he has to decide how he is going to start to move his life forward. The most important realisation is that English has a permanent place in it – if only he can persuade her.

There are lots of side plots going on, so be ready for a very full story, with perhaps more questions asked than answered. Camden and Katherine need their heads banging together – on this, I think we would probably all agree! Looking forward to reading on in the next book.

3.5 Stars

The Hating Season is the second installment in the Seasons series. As listed in the synopsis, it can be read as a standalone. As someone who didn't read The Lying Season, I can attest that the novel can be read independently of the series, however there was still this vibe that I missed a lot more than a single novel. Not only did I miss what happened in the previous novel, it felt as if the majority of characters weren't newly introduced but well-established characters that had their own novels at some point, major rundowns of past events that happened, leading me to believe the series is tied to a previous series written by Linde. Maybe it was just the way it was written, but it felt like I was missing something.

Anna English is a publicist from Los Angeles, her current client the son of a political candidate in New York City. English was a logical character, realistically written to feel like someone I could befriend in a nanosecond. Resonating deeply within me, I wouldn't so much as say she had trust issues, but instantly saw deception as a deep betrayal. She was resolute, leaving no room to be bitten twice. English didn't give in, and I respected her for it. Let's be honest, if someone gets away with hurting you, they'll do it again and again, because they don't respect you, because you taught them not to, because you don't respect yourself. Emotions didn't matter to English – they chose to hurt her, they chose to lose her. If her feelings are hurt, it's their fault.

Every time English's ex told her she was at fault because she wouldn't give him another chance, wouldn't work on their relationship, flashbacks of the same words said to me fired in my brain, along with the frustration, injustice, and the anger at being gaslit. Then English would deliver a one-liner about how none of this had to do with her, because that all ended with his choices, then she would cut off the communication. Boundaries.

English brought this philosophy into her work, which is why she wrangled her clients so well, especially spoiled playboys like Court Kensington. Court is obviously the immature bad boy who is misunderstood, deep down an amazing guy with untapped potential.

I adored English, had a hard time connecting with Court because I felt him all over the place and not developed enough, yet wasn't the biggest fan of their relationship. I wanted them both to have happily ever afters, but felt they weren't a good fit, not a balance of personalities. The enemies-to-lovers vibe felt forced, as well did their attraction to one another. I cared about what happened to English, which is why I continued to read, but I didn't find the romance to ring true.

On the friendship front, a few of the characters came off as extremely immature and petty, and with English's personality, I found it hard to believe she would call them friends, let along suffer their presence as she watched them act like spoiled-rotten children who are wealthy adult professionals. While I love me some messy angst, and I can't wait to see what happens next with the arranged marriage, I just found it impossible to believe someone who is done the instant someone lies to her would stand by and watch everyone around her lie to each other – that doesn't compute.

I look forward to what comes next in the series.

Also Available in the Seasons Series

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our stop on The Lying Season Release Blitz.

K. A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of the Avoiding series, Wrights, and more than thirty other novels. She has a master’s degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, binge-watching Supernatural, traveling, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super-adorable puppies.

Connect with K.A.

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads
K.A. Linde Books Facebook Group

Hosted by

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of The Hating Season (Seasons #2) by K.A. Linde to read and review for this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.