Thursday, July 30, 2020

Begin Again by Jennifer Probst Blog Tour


From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst comes a new story in her Stay series.

Chloe Lake is finally living her dream. As the daughter of the Governor, she’s consistently in the spotlight, and after being dubbed the Most Eligible Bachelorette of NYC, both her career and personal life has exploded. Fortunately, her work as an advocate for animal welfare requires constant publicity and funding, so she embraces her role and plays for the camera—anything for the sake of her beloved rescues.

But when a big case is on the line, she’s faced with the one obstacle she never counted on: the boy who broke her heart is back, and in order to gain justice, they need to work together.

Chloe swears she can handle it until old feelings resurface, and she’s faced with a heartbreaking choice.

Will this time end differently—or are they destined to be only each other’s first love—instead of forever?

Owen Salt fell hard for Chloe when he was a screwed-up kid in college, and spent the next years changing himself into the man his grandfather believed he was capable of. But when his career led him across the country, he knew he needed to leave the woman he loved behind. He’s never forgotten her, but as the new darling of the press, now, she’s way out of his league. When work brings him back to fight for justice by her side, he swears he can handle it.

But he’s never really gotten over his first love—and he wants one more opportunity to prove he’s a man who’s worthy.

Can Owen convince the woman who holds his heart to take a second chance on forever—or is it too late for them both?

**For fans of Jennifer Probst’s Stay series, Begin Again is the fifth installment in that series.**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48747425-begin-again


Book 3.6
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca




He cut the engine. Leaned in. Her hand drifted up to hesitantly touch his face, smooth and stubble free, his square cut jaw straight, full lips, and cut cheekbones straight from a superhero comic. “You’re very handsome,” she whispered.

He chuckled. “Thank you. But you are a work of art.” He stroked her hair. “And it’s officially our fifth date. Would you invite me up?”

Tension stiffened her muscles. She wasn’t ready to sleep with him yet. There was something sacred about inviting a man into her bed. When she was young and reckless, she’d made a bunch of bad choices, sleeping with bad boys to prove nothing could hurt her, and it only made a bigger mess in her head. Now she accepted her need to go slow and refused to apologize for it. “I don’t think tonight is a good idea,” she said.

He nodded, taking the rejection with his normal ease. “Got it. Then I’ll just have to show you how you make me feel right here.”

He lowered his head and kissed her.

Chloe responded immediately, allowing her mouth to soften under his, her hands gripping his broad shoulders. He smelled of expensive cologne, a musky, ocean scent that should have driven her crazy. He knew what he was doing, expertly applying the perfect amount of pressure, slowly sliding his tongue with subtle precision, allowing her to warm up. Her body responded like a fine-tuned machine and she sank into the kiss, deliberately shutting her mind down to enjoy the moment.

When he finally lifted his head, satisfaction gleamed in his eyes. “You are delicious,” he muttered. “I can’t wait to see you again.”

“Me, too.” She smiled and grabbed her purse. “I better go. Thanks for dinner.”

“Thanks for saying yes.”

Chloe climbed out of the car and walked to her apartment building. Nodding to Art, the doorman, she took the elevator up to the eighth floor and entered her sacred space. Kicking off her heels, she went straight to her living room, got comfortable, and took out her phone.

He answered on the second ring. “Sweetheart! It’s so good to hear from you. What’s up?”

The sound of her father’s voice was everything good in the world, and she leaned her head back on the sofa, closing her eyes. Funny, for so many years, she hid everything from him, refusing to share any of her feelings. Now she looked forward to their talks, and though she had many close friends who’d be there anytime, she preferred going straight to her father. “Hi, Dad. Am I interrupting?”

“There’s nothing I could be doing where I’d consider you an interruption. You sound funny.”

She laughed but it turned into a half sob. “I had a date. With Drew Dinkle.”

A whistle cut over the phone. “That’s great! I’ve always liked Drew. He’s got his priorities straight—family values, hard work, and charity. If I had a choice to set you up with anyone, I’d pick Drew. How’d it go?”

“Great. He took me to Felice’s.”

“Our favorite place. See, he’s winning already. How long have you been seeing him?”

“This was our fifth date. Dad, can I ask you something?”

“Sure.”

“Is it better to be ruled by your heart or your head?”




Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Ruthie☆☆☆☆
This installment in the Stay series is very welcome – for fans it will be a perfect opportunity to catch up with all the gang, and to find Chloe and Owen all grown up! You could definitely read this as a lovely introduction to the books too, and I dare you not to be tempted to go back and find out about the adventures that are mentioning in passing in this story.

Chloe has found her calling, and is working hard for animal rescue. She is seeing someone, but there really is no great buzz, and anyway, she is far too busy. Then Owen Salt walks into the office, the new lawyer helping on a big animal abuse case. All her thoughts get thrown to the wind, but she will not allow herself to be hurt by him again. He broke her once, she can't let him do it again.

Owen walked away for only one reason, to become worthy for Chloe. He is single-minded in his plans, and will do all he can, without being pushy, to make Chloe believe him. I loved his tenacity, his honesty, and how he was prepared to make himself vulnerable to prove to her that he is serious. Some of his revelations really do shock her, and give her a better understanding of his thinking.

Though a novella, there is plenty of depth, lots of fabulous characters – and whilst names (thanks to Disney) have always been a feature of this series, Chloe's suitor being called Drew Dinkle just had me in stitches, lol!

I highly recommend this to you. Enjoy!




Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She holds a masters in English Literature and lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley in upstate New York. Her family keeps her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean. Her passions include horse racing, Scrabble, rescue dogs, Italian food, and wine—not necessarily in that order.

She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, spent 26 weeks on the New York Times. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries, sold over a million copies, and was dubbed a “romance phenom” by Kirkus Reviews. She is also a proud three-time RITA finalist.

Connect with Jennifer

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads




Hosted by
https://www.socialbutterflypr.net/


Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Begin Again (Stay #3.6) by Jennifer Probst to read and review for this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment