Monday, October 28, 2019

Shattered Bonds by Faith Hunter

Jane Yellowrock must dig deep and find strength within herself if she is to survive in the latest novel in this New York Times bestselling series.

Jane Yellowrock is a shapeshifting skinwalker, and vampire killer-for-hire, but her last battle with an ancient arcane enemy has brought her low. She seeks retreat in the Appalachian Mountains to grieve the loss of her friends, and to heal--or to die--from the disease brought on by her magic.

But malevolent elements in the paranormal community still seek to destroy Jane, and the younger Son of Darkness stalks her, even into the safety of the hills. With nowhere to run and her body failing, the rogue-vampire hunter and her inner Beast must discover a way to defeat this new threat, and find a form that gives her a chance to fight another day.

Add to Goodreads –

Book 13
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

5 Long-Anticipated Stars

Spoiler-Free Review to my best abilities.

After how Dark Queen left readers up in the air as to what happened to a beloved character and as to how Jane was handling her new situation, I couldn't wait to get my hands on Shattered Bonds. Seriously, I was pestery and stalking a release date, so eager to see what happens next.

It goes without saying, Shattered Bonds cannot be read as a standalone or out of series order. A few of the books in the middle of the pack could be read or missed without confusion, but this novel reads more like a continuation.

Jane is in hiding, mourning heavy losses, while suffering from a magical form of cancer growing in her center. Escaping her duty in New Orleans because the grief is heavy, she's created a new base of operation just outside of Asheville in the mountains, where she purchased an inn to accommodate her people. A few months have passed since the conclusion of Dark Queen, and it's all about to hit the fan.

The Dark Queen hasn't picked up her mantle, effectively destroying her power base, while she mourns and suffers. Several of her people go missing, her primo is being tortured, all because the SOD has a baby brother that she never knew existed, and he's out for blood, looking for his brother/the return of whatever is left of the SOD, after Brut tore it bit from bit.

The majority of the novel is Jane suffering from cancer, terrified over what that means in the long-run. Able to not deteriorate when shaped as Beast or when in half-form. Jane as Jane is dying by the second. Rallying the troops, Jane puts on her crown and gets down to business, attempting to protect her people from the new baddie invading their territory.

What is so different this time around, Jane isn't necessarily in charge. In the past, even when she wasn't in charge, she fought to take control. During Shattered Bonds, Jane learns to delegate, to trust and respect her people to do what needs to be done, so she can take care of herself and save what little strength she has left. It's a new side of Jane – a vulnerable side.

I planned on reading this novel slowly, simply because it was such a long wait from the previous installment. I wanted to savor it. However, no matter how much I love the characters, maybe because of that actually, I had a hard time reading. I struggled with the content, watching Jane suffer, finding only small moments of ironic humor from beast and the deep connection Jane has with her family. There were often so many characters within a scene, it got chaotic and confusing for me to read and enjoy. The major issue was the stress I was feeling while reading a character suffer.

Dark. Much darker than the previous books.

Here is where I refuse to provide spoilers, because it's yet another stellar ending, taking the series in a new direction, one I cannot wait to experience.

Highly recommend for series fans and fans of the author. For those looking for a solid urban fantasy series where you can trust the author to stay true to the story and characters she's written, go back to the beginning and start with Skinwalker (I've reread it 4 times, just as entertaining each time as the last).

Also Available in the Jane Yellowrock Series

Book 11
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Cold Reign post.

Book 12
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

For reviews & more info, check out our Dark Queen post.

New York Times Bestselling author Faith Hunter writes three series: the Jane Yellowrock series, dark urban fantasy novels featuring Jane, a Cherokee Skinwalker; the Rogue Mage novels, a dark, urban fantasy/post-apocalyptic series and role playing game featuring Thorn St. Croix; and the Soulwood Series featuring Nell Nicholson Ingram.

Connect with Faith

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Shattered Bonds (Jane Yellowrock #13) by Faith Hunter to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.