Thursday, August 8, 2019

Because You're Mine by Rea Frey


An “insidious, suspenseful tale” (J.T. Ellison) with a “shocker of an ending you won’t see coming” (Michele Campbell), Because You're Mine by Rea Frey, the author who “brings to mind Jodi Picoult” (Booklist) and “will appeal to readers of Green Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen” (Sally Hepworth) is a novel about how the truth will set you free.

But it’s the lies that keep you safe.

Single mother Lee has the daily routine down to a science: shower in six minutes. Cut food into perfect squares. Never leave her on-the-spectrum son Mason in someone else’s care. She’ll do anything—anything—to keep his carefully constructed world from falling apart. Do anything to keep him safe.

But when her best friend Grace convinces her she needs a small break from motherhood to recharge her batteries, Lee gives in to a weekend trip. Surely a long weekend away from home won’t hurt?

Noah, Mason’s handsome, bright, charismatic tutor—the first man in ages Lee’s even noticed—is more than happy to stay with him.

Forty-eight hours later, someone is dead.

But not all is as it seems. Noah may be more than who he claims to be. Grace has a secret—one that will destroy Lee. Lee has secrets of her own that she will do anything to keep hidden.
As the dominoes begin to fall and the past comes to light, perhaps it's no mystery someone is gone after all…

Because You're Mine is a breathtaking novel of domestic drama and suspense.

Prepare to stay up all night.


Add to Goodreads –



Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo



Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Avid Reader☆☆☆☆
3.5 stars
M/F Thriller

Lee is the mother to Mason. Mason has some form of autism, but we are not quite sure how severe. He is able to function day-to-day but cannot attend a formal school. Then, in walks Noah. He is a tutor who specializes in kids on the spectrum.

Lee owns her own business but has a checkered past. While she tries to find a good balance between her life as a mom, life as a business owner, and a friend, she finds that she's often struggling.

Her best friend Grace is also someone who has a past. However, she wants her friend Lee to find happiness. But the secret that Grace has is one she fears will change her friendship forever.

This is a story about finding out what is behind everyone else's facade. I enjoyed the twists and turns. I did find some of the parts fairly predictable but enjoyed the story regardless. I think my biggest negative for the story was the ending. It felt unfinished and very abrupt.



Rea Frey is an award-winning author of several nonfiction books. She lives in Nashville with her husband and daughter. Not Her Daughter is her debut novel.

Connect with Rea

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~ Goodreads


http://www.stmartins.com/


Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Because You're Mine by Rea Frey to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment