Tuesday, August 20, 2019

On the Corner of Love and Hate by Nina Bocci


For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA Today bestselling author Nina Bocci.

Add to Goodreads –


Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo
Simon & Schuster – Paperback



Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Sarah☆☆☆
This story of love and small town politics focuses on the relationship between Emma, the mayor’s daughter, and Cooper, her lifelong frenemy and the next mayoral candidate. As the election becomes increasingly heated, Emma and Cooper must put their personal issues aside and work together as professionals.

Despite Emma’s professional roles, she manages to be almost completely emotionally incontinent. Emma has way too much whiney Bridget Jones self-pity for me to really enjoy her as a character but there are a few moments when she grabs a backbone and I liked her. Emma is at her best when she unleashes her smart, waspish tongue and she’s at her worst whenever she’s thinking about Cooper – which is most of the book.

Cooper is an interesting character. He’s the embodiment of every charming, handsome, and work-shy man I’ve had the opportunity to work with and I hate that he never notices how much he depends on Emma cleaning up after him. We only get a few glimpses of the real Cooper under his polished veneer and in moments of vulnerability he is likeable.

I’m not a huge fan of the relationship between Cooper and Emma. I think the constant stand-offs, shouting, ghosting, etc. are supposed to suggest sexual tension, but I just kept wanting Emma to sever ties and start fresh. These two aren’t nice to each other. Their connection is pure angst and Cooper’s actions cause Emma constant self-doubt. By the end, I just wanted to shake some sense into them both. The tension between these two made me tense and the story made me frustrated.

For me, the strengths of this book lay outside the two main characters. I enjoyed the town and the quirky residents. I really liked Emma’s family and I enjoyed Emma and Cooper’s friends. There is also an almost magical screen romance worthy moment when Emma walks away from Cooper’s party that I loved.



Nina Bocci is a USA Today bestselling novelist who loves reading and writing about swoony, relatable heroes and smart, witty heroines. If it’s set in a small town, even better. You can always find her chatting on social media about her massive, crazy Italian family, and her favorite person in the world, her son.

Connect with Nina

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads


http://www.simonandschuster.com


Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of On the Corner of Love and Hate (Hopeless Romantics #1) by Nina Bocci to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment