Saturday, March 2, 2019

Circle of the Moon by Faith Hunter

Set in the same world as Faith Hunter's New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, the fourth Soulwood novel stars Nell Ingram, who channels her power from the earth.

Nell can draw magic from the land around her, and lately she's been using it to help the Psy-Law Enforcement Division, which solves paranormal crimes. Joining the team at PsyLED has allowed her to learn more about her powers and the world she always shunned—and to find true friends.

Head agent Rick LaFleur shifts into a panther when the moon calls him, but this time, something has gone wrong. Rick calls Nell from a riverbank—he's naked, with no memory of how he came to be there, and there's a dead black cat, sacrificed in a witch circle and killed by black magic, lying next to him.

Then more animals turn up dead, and team rushes to investigate. A blood-witch is out to kill. But when it seems as if their leader is involved in the crime, the bonds that hold the team together could shatter at any moment.

Add to Goodreads –

Book 4
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

Circle of the Moon is the fourth installment of the Soulwood series, and I strongly suggest against reading it out of order or independently as a standalone. As this is a spin-off of Jane Yellowrock – where I don't believe it necessary to read that series first to grasp anything without confusion – it would be beneficial to the reader to read Jane Yellowrock followed by Soulwood. They share the same urban fantasy universe, the worldbuilding, and a set of characters. While this is an offshoot of the Jane Yellowrock series, Rick's continuing thread is connected to Jane Yellowrock, and the readers would have a more fulfilling emotional connection if the reader has read both Jane Yellowrock and Soulwood in series order.

The main thought scrolling on repeat in my mind as I read Circle of the Moon in one sitting... I cannot wait to carve out a large portion of time, where I go back all the way to the beginning, to spend time with Jane and Beast, working my way in order to experience Nell and company, catching all the things that tie it all together.

For me, this series isn't so much about the world building or the sleuthing for clues, but more so the character building and development over time. This obviously makes this a spoiler-free review.

Nell is coming into her own. She's no longer that widow woman from a cult, who was selfless and wouldn't speak up for herself. Nell now knows her worth. It's been empowering to hitch a ride alongside Nell as she grew as a strong, independent woman over the past four books. The fear and feeling of worthlessness from book one have slowly built into the woman Nell is today. Those experiences color Nell's actions and reactions, creating a 3D heroine with a unique voice.

Another favorite of mine in this series – as I said, it's not so much the original world-building or the mystery solving – it's the connection Nell and her team has forged. Nell doesn't bow down to Rick anymore. She offers her input and expects to be listened to, and I believe this is something Rick needs right now in his life (I won't spoil Rick's trials and tribulations for those who haven't read the book, as it all ties to events that have taken place in Jane Yellowrock).

Rickie Boo. Rickie Boo. Rickie Boo, I'll read anything featuring you. Ha!

Then there is Occam, who is beyond patient and understanding of Nell's cult past. I'm a sucker for a bad boy, so while this is sweet and beautiful, the romance portion hasn't quite hooked me. Occam at times comes off as too perfect, flawless in how he handles Nell. While there is some angst surrounding it, I like a few flaws in my characters.

The cult family, yet another facet where Faith Hunter concentrates on rebuilding relationships that were toxic to begin with, creating something that is realistic yet healthy. Salvaging the best out of a bad situation is the best way to put this.

Even as I write this review, I have such a strong desire to revisit Jane and Beast, weaving Nell in the lineup where these books best fit, to get the most emotional bang for my buck.

Also Available in the Soulwood Series

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca

For reviews & more info, check out our Blood of the Earth post.

Book 2
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca

For reviews & more info, check out our Curse on the Land post.

Book 3
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca

For reviews & more info, check out our Flame in the Dark post.

New York Times Bestselling author Faith Hunter writes three series: the Jane Yellowrock series, dark urban fantasy novels featuring Jane, a Cherokee Skinwalker; the Rogue Mage novels, a dark, urban fantasy/post-apocalyptic series and role playing game featuring Thorn St. Croix; and the Soulwood Series featuring Nell Nicholson Ingram.

Connect with Faith

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Instagram  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Circle of the Moon (Soulwood #4) by Faith Hunter to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.