Saturday, July 1, 2017

Corliss by V.C. Andrews

Book One of the Girls of Spindrift. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina series, now Lifetime movies, here begins a haunting new series featuring highly intelligent teenage girls who struggle to survive a specialized high school and find their place in a world that doesn’t understand them.

Such is the burden of being brilliant.

Corliss is not like the other girls at her Los Angeles high school. Incredibly intelligent, shy, and a loner, she has difficultly in fitting in. What’s worse, a clique of girls is out to get her because she’s not down with their games.

On the night of a school party, her refusal to take drugs with the girls leads them to take matters into their own hands—spiking her drink. Quickly, Corliss’s entire life is turned upside down and no one—not even the handsome valedictorian who had agreed to go out with her—looks at her the same way. Just when she’s wondering if she’ll be able to return to her high school, someone mentions a new place: Spindrift. Could that be her way out?

Note: The four Girls of Spindrift e-novellas together form a prequel for Bittersweet Dreams—available now!

Add to Goodreads –

Book 1
Buy Links

Amazon US  ~  Amazon UK  ~  Amazon Au  ~  Amazon Ca
B&N  ~  Google Play  ~  iTunes  ~  Kobo

Reviews by the Wicked Reads Review Team

4.5 Intrigued stars.

Instead of a short-story, I'd call this a serial.

To be honest, as an old-school V.C. Andrews fan, I wasn't sure what to expect, as I stopped reading the ghost-written books about a decade or so ago. I began reading V.C. Andrews in the late 80s, early 90s when I was about 10 years old. When the opportunity arose to read this series, as well as after checking out the blurb, I honestly went into reading thinking I would be disappointed. I know that sounds odd, but I think that actually was a help, not a detriment, as I thoroughly enjoyed Corliss.

Corliss was a very short introduction to Corliss, our narrator. Four character introductions, showing events leading up to their admittance into Spindrift, tying into the full-length novel, Bittersweet Dreams.

Corliss is a genius, a teenage Temperance Brennan (Bones). She's highly intelligent, cerebral to the point she has a difficult time interacting with her peers, making friends, or dealing with her family. Her mind works on a different wavelength than normal folks. Her narration made it difficult to connect at first, but after I realized her characterization, it made it much easier.

Corliss doesn't have any girl friends – she's too smart, risk-assessment, and she is also beautiful. A self-admitted BeyoncĂ©. Since she and her family are poor, she's at a public school that is barely teaching its students as it is, let alone the brightest of the bright. Corliss isn't 'smart,, like how we mean when we say genius – it has another meaning entirely.

She's struggling, because in order to get a college acceptance, where they want well-rounded academics, she has to take care of her younger siblings instead of engaging in extracurricular activities, which also puts a divide between her and her peers.

After something horrific (the event gave me gut-twisting feels), Corliss is set adrift farther than before, so when the opportunity arises for a different life, she takes it with both hands, even with the guilt of leaving a family who doesn't understand her behind.

Corliss' introduction left me wanting more, eager to read Donna to see how the next narrator ends up at Spindrift, and is making me feel anticipatory for when the girls finally make it to the school. No doubt, in true V.C. Andrews fashion, nothing good will come from where they will end up.

I cannot wait to read more. I'm seriously surprised.

Recommended to fans of V.C. Andrews, readers who enjoy young-adult-aged characters, and those who love twisty, gut-twisting thrills.

Gorgeous cover.

Young Adult age-range: 14+ due to drug-use, bullying, and sexual situations.

One of the most popular authors of all time, V.C. Andrews has been a bestselling phenomenon since the publication of the spellbinding classic Flowers in the Attic. That blockbuster novel began the renowned Dollanganger family saga, which includes Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows. Since then, readers have been captivated by more than sixty novels in nearly twenty bestselling series. V.C. Andrews’s novels have sold more than 106 million copies and have been translated into twenty-two foreign languages.

Sadly, V.C. passed away in 1986. She left several unfinished manuscripts and outlines that were completed by Andrew Neiderman.

Connect with V.C.

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Website  ~  Goodreads

Reviewers on the Wicked Reads Review Team were provided a free copy of Corliss (Girls of Spindrift #1) by V.C. Andrews to read and review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are reviewed by a blog admin before being published. We thank you for visiting our blog & leaving a comment.